Saturday, December 12, 2020

Scott's Take: The Camelot Betrayal: A Camelot Rising Novel by Kiersten White

The Camelot Betrayal: A Camelot Rising Novel by Kiersten White is the sequel to The Guinevere Deception. In this novel, a lot of subplots spinning out of the first book are continued. The main plot, according to the book blurb, is about how Guinevere is in danger of being revealed as an impostor when the younger sister of the real Guinevere comes to visit her at Camelot. The actual novel is far more complicated and there is really no main plot. Instead, a lot of different ongoing plot lines are combined together. The same ongoing themes of love, secrets, finding your place in the world, good intentions causing harm, the consequences of having power, and more are continued here and seemingly take on great significance. There is really no main plot since every character is dealing with lots of interconnected character arcs that are built upon the previous relationships in the last book.


This is a book where the good guys are right, but the bad guys also have a point. The bad guys may not be as bad as the people of Camelot think they are. In fact, they easily could be more right than wrong. Everyone involved has a secret agenda and has different motivations that help them decide what they are doing. The why matters in this novel and just the actions. There is plenty of action, humor, romance, mystery, and magic for one’s enjoyment. The author is very good at making sure everyone is having to make choices that are difficult for them.


One wishes that the author wrote some chapters from the perspective of King Arthur and Mordred so one could get more insight into them instead of just having Guinevere’s perspective which may or may not be accurate. The author intentionally hides their feelings on the matters with the reader having to guess what they are thinking based on their words and action which may or may not be honest. Guinevere is torn between those two sides of the conflict between these two men and their causes.


If you enjoyed The Guinevere Deception, then everything you enjoyed there continues here in the sequel. The Camelot Betrayal: A Camelot Rising Novel ties heavily into the first book so it is best to read in order. This book sets up the third book in the series, The Excalibur Curse, which is expected to come out next year. One wonders where the author will go from here based on the ending to this book. 


The Camelot Betrayal (Camelot Rising Trilogy)

Kirsten White

Delacorte Press (Penguin Random House)

November 2020

ISBN#: 978-0-525-58171-0

Hardback (also available in audio, eBook, and paperback format)

384 Pages 



My reading copy came from the Lakewood Branch of the Dallas Public Library System. 


Scott A. Tipple ©2020

No comments: